Leadership Team


The BSM offers various ministries to provide students and local churches the opportunity to serve and be served. The purpose of BSM and our ministry teams is three-fold: Exalt the Lord, Equip the Laity, and Evangelize the Lost. Application and selection for BSM Leadership happens during the Fall semester each year. We are always open to starting new ministry teams.

For a detailed description and more information concerning and participating in these ministries contact these leaders:

The Director

Mark Yates - 903-923-2340; myates@etbu.edu

The Intern

Clinton Salmon - 903-923-2341; csalmon@etbu.edu

Kids Club

Kid's Club is a ministry that goes and plays with kids. Our main goal is to teach the children fellowship and to show God's love through the ETBU community. At Kids Club, we build relationships with the children. The love and attention that we all crave is shown to these children through this ministry. Kids Club gives us an opportunity to serve the way God has called us to serve.

The Coordinators for Kids Club are:
Jordan Hendricks (808) 281-4644; jordan_hendricks@etbu.edu
Ashley Mexicano (832) 890-5194; ashley_mexicano@etbu.edu
Joshua Ryals (409) 926-9258; joshua_ryals@etbu.edu
Charlotte Coit (713) 670-6808; charlotte_coit@etbu.edu

Charge

Charge is a life group ministry that meets every week to discuss scripture, pray, eat and grow together. This semester, Charge meets at the Balcony on Monday nights at 8:00. We are also involved with D-now recruitment, mission mobilization and other outreach ministries in local churches. We encourage anyone to come to life group and join with us as we sharpen and inspire one another.

The coordinators are: 
Tafadzwa Charuma (214) 916-1926; tafadzwa_charuma@etbu.edu
Amanda Fowler (903) 305-9353; amanda_fowler@etbu.edu
Danny Jackson (409) 622-0436; danny_jackson@etbu.edu
Uriel Olguin (903) 394-4087; uriel_olguin@etbu.edu

Barnabas

His name was Joseph but Barnabas was his nickname which literally means, "Son of Encouragement" (Acts 4:36). Thus, the Barnabas Ministry is all about encouragement. As he was known for his encouragement, so we desire to encourage in such a way that it becomes how we are known. This ministry exists to reach out in love to the students, faculty and staff of this campus to tell them about the Father. One of the ways we do this is by anonymous letters of encouragement.

The Coordinator is: 
Shelby Peeples (903) 272-6952; shelby_peeples@etbu.edu

Manistry

Manistry is a ministry devoted to weekly fellowship and investing in the lives of the men at ETBU.
We a have weekly time of community and a monthly intentional Bible Study.
Our purpose is to reach men on campus through fellowship, study and unique events.

The Coordinators are:
Ryan Baggett (409) 454-7254; ryan_baggett@etbu.edu
Sean Graham (318) 553-0730; sean_graham@etbu.edu
Austin Odom (409) 540-2614; austin_odom@etbu.edu

Release

Release is the BSM's weekly worship service that is open to the entire campus. From 8 to 9 p.m.
every Tuesday night, students are invited to come before the throne of God and release all of the worries, fears, hurts, and confusions that this world forces them to carry.
Through music and the Word, students can focus on and praise the One who has
the power to bring them out of their hurts and into "rich fulfillment" (Psalms 66:12).

The Coordinators are:
Jermaca Brown (903) 644-6488; jermaca_brown@etbu.edu
Payton Beggs (940) 613-3675; payton_beggs@etbu.edu

Missions

Our missions group seeks ways to connect God's heart and purpose for the nations with students' day to day lives. We as Christians are called to live missionally, incorporating God's "Great Commission" into every aspect of our lives. As a group we organize means for students to be aware of mission sending organizations, community service involvement, the necessity of prayer and financial support,
and being on call 24/7. Two of our logistical goals are to raise funds for students' summer missions and to lead two missions focused chapels, one in the fall and one in the spring, to share your opportunities to serve and support and send you out as you go. Missions team is one way to plug yourself into an organization that seeks to serve and impact locally and globally.

The Coordinator is:
Tyler Burge (817) 304-6718; tyler_burge@etbu.edu

Prayer

We are actively promoting the spread of a healthy attitude and atmosphere for genuine prayer.

The Coordinator is:
Wesley Simmons (903) 754-8448; wesley_simmons@etbu.edu

Publicity

It is our goal as a ministry to be servants by helping to publicize all the ministries that are a
part of our BSM. We accomplish this in various ways; e.g. slide shows, web designs,
photography, flyers, videos and newsletters. It is our job to publicize and
get the word out about all our ministries and what they have to offer.

The Coordinator is:  Gabrielle Garcia (Out of the country on mission)
Contact Clinton Salmon (903) 387-2210; csalmon@etbu.edu

180 Degrees

Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus (Philippians 3:13-14) is the key verse for this ministry formerly called the Women's Ministry. Becoming a Christian means that we have made a 180 degree turn; leaving our old lives behind and taking up the new life in Christ. This ministry's desire is to be a place where the women of ETBU can share with one another; encourage as well as be encouraged; and become stronger women of faith together; thus "Becoming the woman you were called to be."

The Coordinators are:
Victoria Brackin (409) 594-5457; victoria_brackin@etbu.edu
Jessica Burrell (409) 429-8007; jessica_burrell@etbu.edu
Kristin William (903) 530-4573; kristin_williams@etbu.edu

Community Ministry

Community Ministry is all about getting students plugged in on and off campus. Our goal is to give the disciples on ETBU's campus an opportunity to make a change and commit a few hours a week to serving God and people. We have a multitude of ministries to plug into at different times and days.

The Coordinators are:
Chuck Davenport (817) 705-9311; charles_davenport@etbu.edu
Caleb Dorsey (903) 948-3488; caleb_dorsey@etbu.edu

 Journey

Journey is a ministry designed to help Freshmen and incoming transfer students as they start
this next journey of life. In this ministry, upperclassmen (one guy/one girl) disciple incoming students. Journey Parents, as they are called, will offer encouragement, guidance, Bible study and more.
This is not a study group, prayer group or Bible training, this is your family!

The Coordinators are:
Ashley Pollard (903) 399-3211; ashley_pollard@etbu.edu
Caleb Phillips (903) 563-4913; caleb_phillips@etbu.edu
Morgan Walters (903-736-7240; morgan_walters@etbu.edu
Joe Meadows (870) 421-7284; joseph_meadows@etbu.edu